I’ve Lost My Mojo…

I’ve reached that tipping point, when I’ve stopped feeling like a friendly visitor sharing interesting stories about my trip to China and I’ve started feeling like a bum, just here to eat all of the food in the refrigerator and record unfamiliar programs on the DVR.

Justin and I have been staying with my parents for a week-and-a-half now, and I hate to say it, but it has stopped feeling like vacation. Waking up at ten every morning and watching The Price is Right is no longer a fun treat, but merely an unsettling reminder that I have no idea what I am doing with my life. Justin and I are homeless–literally homeless! And though we’re not out-on-the-streets-begging-for-change kind of homeless, living out of a suitcase under someone else’s roof still wears on you after awhile. I’m ready for us to have our own jobs and our own house. I would feel better if I could even know what those jobs will be or where exactly we will be living! Plans–that’s what I’m missing here. I’m okay as long as I have something to plan. But right now, I have no plans.

Justin and I had long been planning on possibly moving to Pittsburgh, as that city housed the only company that had actually contacted him and shown an interest in hiring him. But Justin’s contact at that company has stood him up for a phone interview TWICE now, so we’ve stopped really planning on Pittsburgh (so many hours I wasted, looking at apartments for rent on Craigslist! What can I say…I just needed something to plan). Justin has another interview for a company in Tallahassee next week–maybe we’ll be moving back! But I’m not sure I’ll be able to find a job in Tallahassee; I’ve never been able to find a teaching job in that town since I graduated in 2007.

An unneccessary rant: [If I had known then what I know now, I would have spent more time wining and dining different people in Leon County and making advantageous contacts while I was still in school. Instead, I spent my time reading books and studying, thinking that would help me become a great teacher. Silly, naive girl! When the school I was interning with had a giant “FCAT is over!” party at a faculty member’s house, I showed up and brought my homemade side dish and exchanged niceties with everyone, but left when the party started getting wild later that night. When an English teaching position opened up at the end of my internship, I applied for the job, and so did a social studies ed major who interned at the same school. Guess who got the job? The quiet girl with an English Education degree who left the party early? Or the wild girl who isn’t certified to teach English but stayed at the party all night doing jello shots alongside the principal? Hmm…if that’s what it takes to get a job in Leon County, then maybe I don’t want one.] End rant.

But anyways, I didn’t start typing intending to complain; I came to tell you about my new hobby–scrapbooking. I haven’t put together a Creative-Memories-style scrapbook in a long time, and I wasn’t even sure if people still did them anymore, what with Instagram and Facebook and ready-made books to order on Shutterfly. Justin was the one who actually requested that I do one. He really wants me to make a book that can include not just pictures, but entry tickets and plane tickets and receipts from different places that we’ve saved. So making an old fashioned scrapbook really seemed like the best way to go. And it’s an immense task to try to chronicle a year’s worth of pictures, so it’s a great way to fill time that I have been spending just worrying about our future, because that’s really not helping anyone. All I can do is WAIT, and while I’m waiting, I can scrapbook!

Here are a couple of pictures of what I have so far:

A dragon for my title page

Pics of our Chinese apartment

And my cat, The Fonz, always insists on getting right into the middle of things.

By the way, my fancy photographer sister took some beautiful pictures of The Fonz with her expensive Nikon camera–look how nicely this one turned out!

We did not take The Fonz with us to China, but maybe I can find a way to scrapbook this pretty picture of him into my book somehow. Okay…I just realized that I’ve blogged about scrapbooking and my cat all in the same post. I’ve reached a new level of lame. I really, really need a job!

Categories: Job Search, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “I’ve Lost My Mojo…

  1. Come to Chicago!! I have a lot of connections in schools, although no one has ever asked me if I know an English teacher… And the state of CPS isn’t exactly desirable… But you’re young and should be somewhere where you can make a difference!

    • Awww, thanks Tammy! I need to go teach wherever Justin finds a civil engineering job. I’ll tell him to check out opportunities in Chicago! 😉

  2. I hope you guys are able to find some direction soon! I know this period of waiting must be frustrating and feel stagnant. Just know that Tennessee is a super friendly great place to live.. hint hint! 😉

  3. Thanks Rach! We’ve been looking around the Tennessee area for work while we’re staying with my parents in Knoxville. We would love to live here! But we’ll settle for living just about ANYWHERE at this point! 😉

  4. I hope you can find a job and a town soon, it’s hard to make plans sometimes but I’m sure it will all work out in the end! Plus you have each other! Your cat is very cute by the way 🙂

    • Thanks Victoria! My husband has had a few job interviews, so we’re hoping that he’ll at least find something! And if I can’t find a teaching job, you’ve inspired me to use that jobless time to try to get some writing published! 😉

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

