Eat Your Heart Out, Pinterest!

I love projects! And after finishing my giant, 50-page China scrapbook, I was itching to start on the next thing. Justin and I sold our computer desk last year before moving to China (and it really wasn’t much to look at anyways), so we were in need of a new one. The neighborhood my parents live in hosted a big community yard sale this past weekend, and among other things that my parents were scrounging up to sell, they had an old wicker desk! I hadn’t seen it in awhile–it was a desk that used to sit in my childhood bedroom a long time ago, and it belonged to my older sister before that. White wicker tends to look a little too cutesy for my taste, but my mom inspired me to try painting it black. She took some of my childhood-bedroom white wicker furniture and spray painted it black, and it looks really classy and grown-up in her guest bedroom now–so completely different from how it looked before! So I thought I would give it a try with the desk.

Here’s a pic of the yard sale, with the white wicker desk on the far right being used to display stuff.

The scene of the crime

I’m still finding speckles of black paint on my elbows and my toes! Spray paint goes everywhere!

This is a picture of it in mid-paint, so there are still some white spots visible, but after several coats (that wicker can REALLY soak up some paint!), it’s looking nice! I’ll finish it off by putting a photo collage under one of those clear plastic desk mats from an office supply store, since the wicker desk top makes writing difficult. I’ll also tie a little red seat cushion to the desk chair to make it a little more comfortable. All it needs now is an office! 😀

This one’s up next! An old set that used to belong to my father’s grandmother! It’s going to look great!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Eat Your Heart Out, Pinterest!

  1. Way to go! Spray paint works wonders! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

