Christmastime is here!

It feels like it’s been awhile since I’ve updated my blog. And it’s mostly due to the fact that Christmas has TAKEN OVER MY LIFE. (Not to say that I’m not enjoying it. I missed Christmas last year, when I was in China.) Last night, for example, I was wrapping presents for hours and hours, until I felt like I might be sick if I tied even ONE more ribbon. And I’m still not totally done Christmas shopping, either. I’ve only got a couple more gifts to find, and I feel like I’m running out of time! In the meantime, my job at Victoria’s Secret has been giving me more and more hours, so that keeps me busy too. Ordinary Tuesday mornings have begun to resemble Black Friday, with people packing into the store and scrambling to buy $500 worth of lingerie and sweat pants and perfume for everyone on their Christmas list.

Hey...I didn't say the customers were the only ones stocking up on gifts...

Hey…I didn’t say the customers were the only ones stocking up on gifts…

 

Last week, I took a day off of work to volunteer at the Scholastic warehouse! I got a lot of my Christmas shopping done there, which was really nice since every book in the place was marked 50% off, and instead of giving me a paycheck at the end of the day, they paid me $10 an hour IN BOOKS. It was like a scene right out of my dreams!

Those boxes are full of BOOKS my friends! Lots and lots of books!

Those boxes are full of BOOKS my friends! Lots and lots of books!

books

Last Friday, my new Pittsburgh friend Teljer invited me and a group of girls in her grad program to The Nutcracker at the Benedum Center downtown. The inside of the theater was GORGEOUS. I almost felt a bit under-dressed, as if only people in full length gowns and corsets and men in tails and top hats should be allowed inside. It was a lot of fun!

Benedum Center

Benedum Center

Posing with my program

Posing with my program

Then on Saturday, we had a party at our apartment for the very first time. I was a little nervous, because parking is limited and the seating in our tiny living room is also pretty limited, but we worked it out. It was exciting to have everyone over! No one even minded that my Griswold-over-sized Christmas tree was taking up half of the living room.

Playing Apples to Apples

Playing Apples to Apples

Teljer with Rudolph

Teljer with Rudolph

There are even more parties and Christmasy events to follow! By the time New Year comes, I may be completely wiped out! But that’s okay…I’m enjoying it. 🙂

"Maybe that Victoria's Secret job has some perks after all...me-YOW!"

“Maybe that Victoria’s Secret job has some perks after all…me-YOW!”

Categories: Christmas, Home | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Christmastime is here!

  1. So glad you are loving this Christmas season! I love that you guys had a party at your place despite parking/seating accomodations. We totally had a Christmas party in our very first apartment four years ago with 12 people in our 400 square foot apartment. It was hilarious. And so crowded. But SO much fun! 🙂 And so cool that you got paid in books for your volunteer time! Love that!

  2. 400 SQUARE FEET?! Our apartment is small, but it’s not that small! It felt a little crowded, but it was still a good party. 🙂 And getting paid in books was definitely exciting! I’ll be going back to volunteer in the spring to do some book shopping for myself! 😉

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

