Spotlight on Pittsburgh: The Duquesne Incline

 Justin and I were a little bit busy during the holiday season, but that didn’t stop us from exploring another piece of historical Pittsburgh–the Duquesne Incline. Although my GPS always pronounces the name “Duquesne” exactly as it is spelled, the “s” is actually silent, and the word is pronounced “do-CANE.” I’ve seen this name all over Pittsburgh–there are streets and even a college with the title–but I still have no idea (and no interest in figuring out, to be honest) who Duquesne was.

But anyways, back to the incline…Justin and I already took a ride on the Monongahela Incline back in September, only a week or so after we first moved to Pittsburgh. I wasn’t entirely sure that the inclines would keep running through the winter with all of the snow and ice, but I was surprised to discover that the incline is available to ride 365 days of the year, and weather is not an issue. I also really appreciate that the price to ride remains an affordable $2.50 each way (or $5 for a round trip), especially when many of the other historical and cultural attractions around Pittsburgh cost an arm and a leg just to get in the door.

It was originally built in the late 1800’s to carry cargo up and down Mount Washington. Later on, it started transporting passengers to and from the downtown area. At one point, the downtown Pittsburgh area had more than fifteen inclines, but now there are only two remaining. Personally, I think the Duquesne incline is my favorite of the two. It has more historical documents and photos available to view in a miniature museum at the top of Mount Washington, and it also has not just one, but TWO penny press machines (I love those! I always get my penny pressed everywhere I go!). It also has a better view of the stadiums and the bridges at the top!

Station at the bottom of the hill

Station at the bottom of the hill

View from the top

Up close of Downtown

Up close of Downtown

Heinz Field, where the Steelers play

Heinz Field, where the Steelers play

Observation deck on Mount Washington

Observation deck on Mount Washington

PNC Park, where the Pirates play

Three identical yellow bridges known as "The Three Sisters"

Three identical yellow bridges known as “The Three Sisters”

A car on the rails--trudging through the snow!

Duquesne Incline

Duquesne Incline

 

View of the rails from the bottom of the hill

View of the rails from the bottom of the hill

Categories: Pittsburgh, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Spotlight on Pittsburgh: The Duquesne Incline

  1. Sounds like a fun experience! And I like that it’s so cheap! 🙂

  2. I just discovered your blog and love it! What a cool experience that incline must be. Awesome view of the city!

    I look forward to reading more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

