Memorial Day Weekend

You guys, I am missing Florida HARD. It was rainy and cold all weekend, on a holiday that I am used to spending poolside or at the beach. But Justin and I made the best of it.

We actually had the chance to hang out with some new potential friends this weekend. As I’ve mentioned before, we made a handful of new-to-Pittsburgh friends, but it seems like none of them are here for the summer. One friend started back at med school in another state this summer, and another friend is still busy doing research (and she’s even studying abroad for a couple of weeks!) for her program at school. And in the case of my friend Chelsea, she moved back home and doesn’t plan on coming back. 😦 Our small group Bible study has taken a break for the entire summer because so many people are traveling. So as far as friends go, it almost feels like we’re starting over.

Justin is on the church softball team (which reminds me, I need to upload some pictures of their games!), and one of the guys on the team had a barbecue at his house on Friday night for teammates and families. He has a swimming pool, and he planned for it to be an outdoorsy/barbecue/swim party, but on Friday night it was about 40 degrees outside, so that didn’t work out. We still had a party, but we had to stay indoors. Everyone there was really nice, and hopefully I’ll get to hang out with some of those girls again at upcoming games!

We also had a game night at Justin’s co-worker’s apartment on Sunday (since there was no work on Monday). I was really worried that they would be scared away by our not-quite-D-&-D-but-just-as-nerdy card game (called Munchkin), but fortunately, they weren’t. They had a whole bunch of nerdy games on their shelf as well, and we played Ticket to Ride (a board game) and a really cool Arabian-themed maze board game. I hope we’ll get together with them again soon! πŸ˜€

munchkin

The rest of the weekend was just me and Justin (and a little bit of working at Victoria’s Secret, unfortunately). Justin took me to a nice park called Deer Lakes (where we did see a baby deer, incidentally, among the many lakes) to play Frisbee golf. The course got really high ratings online, and it ended up being ridiculously expert! I think I threw about ten over par on each hole. Justin lost his disc in the forest a couple of times. We definitely wouldn’t recommend it to beginners. We got through about nine holes and we were exhausted.

Justin in his not-at-all-posed frisbee stance

Justin in his not-at-all-posed Frisbee stance (why is he holding two Frisbees?)

Justin also took me fishing on actual Memorial Day Monday. This consisted of me fishing for about twenty minutes, and then reading my new library book Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling for the other two hours, underneath my umbrella to avoid the sprinkling rain. Mindy is SO FUNNY, oh my goodness! But fishing was okay too. Here are a few pics:

The lake, as seen from the end of my fishing pole

The lake, as seen from the end of my fishing pole.

Me holding a fishing pole like a CHAMP! Justin complimented my casting, which made me feel pretty good about myself. ;-)

Me holding a fishing pole like a CHAMP! Justin complimented my casting, which made me feel pretty good about myself. πŸ˜‰

Baiting the hook like a boss

Baiting the hook like a boss

Look, he caught one! Haha, just kidding. He ended up using that little minnow for bait.

Look, he caught one! Haha, just kidding. He ended up using that little minnow for bait.

There were some cute little ducklings at the lake, but when I got too close, the mama started honking and flapping her wings at me aggressively, so I had to stay back.

There were some cute little ducklings at the lake, but when I got too close, the mama started honking and flapping her wings at me aggressively, so I had to stay back.

It's not exactly Florida, but it will have to do. :-)

It’s not exactly Florida, but it will have to do. πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Memorial Day Weekend

  1. I hope you guys are able to become friends with that group! I know how hard it is to constantly have your friends move away. We went through three groups of friends in our first three years living in Memphis. For the past two years, we’ve had all the same friends, though, and this group all own houses and aren’t in grad school (meaning they are more likely to stick around Memphis and not move after graduating like many of our friends).

    Also, I’ve played Ticket to Ride and it was a lot of fun! I played it with my cousins and Uncle over Christmas this past year. πŸ™‚

  2. I feel like our friends were pretty transient when we lived in Tallahassee too, because some of them were in and out of classes at Florida State. I hope we can make a core group of friends here soon! We know a good amount of people, but we don’t really have anyone who we can call up the morning of and say, “Hey, what are you guys doing today?” We want to make some friends like THAT. πŸ™‚

  3. I hope things fall right into place with this new group of potential friends. It’s difficult when people are in a stage of life that often ends with a move.

    That Munchkin game sounds entertaining!! I’ll have to look it up.

  4. Munchkin is a lot of fun! But very nerdy….And it helps if you learn how to play with someone who has played before, because the rules can get pretty complicated.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

