It’s My Birthday!

Okay, well…yesterday was. But I’ve pretty much been celebrating all weekend. One thing that’s really great about my birthday is that it always falls right around Labor Day Weekend. From a young age, I’ve always understood that to mean that my birthday is so important, they declared it a national, three-day-weekend-worthy holiday. You’re welcome. πŸ˜‰

Some of the highlights?

Getting a bunch of birthday cards in the mail (many of them with birthday money inside!). I still need to send out some thank-yous for those.

Getting my hair done, which was Justin’s gift to me (how did he know exactly what I wanted?). Pictures to follow.

Going shopping with said birthday money!

These were my stores of choice--what can I say? I love a bargain.

These were my stores of choice–what can I say? I love a bargain.

Watching Avengers in Riverview Park with my friend Teljer. Every summer a handful of major parks around Pittsburgh set up giant screens and do movies in the park (for free!). People come and bring blankets to lay out on the grass, and all kinds of snacks and goodies to munch. Last year, Justin and I moved here too late to attend because they stop doing it after Labor Day. I’m so glad that I got to go this time! It is so much fun watching movies outdoors under the stars, especially with an emotional audience that audibly reacts to the situations on screen.

Instagram!

Instagram!

Justin treated me to some fro-yo at Razzy Fresh. I LOVE this place because you serve yourself, and they openly allow you to grab a little sample cup and sample different flavors before choosing one. And then, you can add all of the toppings you want (and they have crazy toppings, like kiwi slices and Captain Crunch!). Then they weigh it at the end and determine your price based on ounces. As long as you don’t fill it up all the way to the top, it comes out to a reasonable price. Mine are usually somewhere around $3.

In all it's delicious glory. Yes, that IS a gummy worm in my cup. Don't judge.

In all its delicious glory. Yes, that IS a gummy worm in my cup. Don’t judge.

Trying to look photogenic while my mouth is full of delicious frozen yogurt

Trying to look photogenic while my mouth is full of delicious frozen yogurt

Razzy Fresh is in Oakland, where the University of Pittsburgh campus is located. Since we were there and we had some time to kill before our evening church service, Justin asked me to show him where I take my grad classes. The campus looks so nice when everything is green and blooming, so we had to stop and take some pictures.

Standing next to the Pitt Panther, right outside of the student union

Standing next to the Pitt Panther, right outside of the student union

And in case you were wondering, that is my birthday outfit. I don’t know if you have a “birthday outfit,” but I’ve tried to make it a tradition to always wear new clothes on my birthday. My shirt was $10 at Plato’s Closet (it only cost so much because it was Hollister. But my wardrobe really needed just a plain white t-shirt. How did I not have one until now?), and my skirt was $5.99 at Ross (Rampage). The accessories were already mine. So that is my $16 birthday outfit. Told you I’m a bargain shopper!

By the way, today is the Pitt vs. Florida State football game, and I really couldn’t be more excited. Yesterday, when we stopped to take pictures at the panther, we kept seeing people with FSU shirts on taking their pictures in front of the panther as well. Justin and I kept getting so excited, like we were running into old family friends (instead of just people from our alma mater). Every time we spotted a Seminole, we’d be like, “Hey! Go ‘Noles!” and we’d do a couple of chops. And they’d look at us like we were strange. (We really need to have our Florida State shirts on before we start acting crazy.) The game is tonight, and we’ll be going and taking pictures! I’ll probably blog about it later!

Justin and I go to church on Sunday evenings instead of Sunday mornings, mostly because our church holds services at several campuses, and Sunday evening is at the campus closest to where we live). I love my church, and I was excited to go on my birthday!

I feel awkward taking photos during worship, so I took a picture of them practicing before the service started.

I feel awkward taking photos during worship, so I took a picture of them practicing before the service started.

They were practicing an upbeat song in this photo, and they started spontaneously breaking into dance. I’m pretty sure Jason Howard (the pastor at our city campus AND the worship leader) is doing the Macerena in this shot.

Party on the Porch!

Party on the Porch at the Heinz History Center! Justin, me, Teljer, and Keila πŸ™‚

After the church service we had our final Party on the Porch for this year! All spring and summer our church will randomly put on outdoor services in the park next to the river or a parties on the porch after the service. It’s basically just a time for everyone to hang out and eat FREE food provided by volunteers. They really didn’t have to throw a party JUST for my birthday (haha), but what can I say? It was a day worth celebrating. πŸ˜‰

Categories: Pittsburgh | Tags: , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “It’s My Birthday!

  1. I love everything about this post! Haha, you look GREAT by the way πŸ™‚ And please post pics of the game tonight! I’m debating whether to stay up late to watch it from France!

  2. Happy belated birthday!! It sounds like you had a wonderful birthday weekend. I am loving your birthday outfit! Great purchases.

  3. Haha that party was TOTALLY in honor of your birthday! Love that you always have a three day weekend for your birthday too! That’s fabulous! Looks like you had a wonderful day! Froyo is such a favorite of mine. And I LOVE Plato’s Closet. That place is so magical! We have a couple of Ross stores here too, but they seem to have gone up in price over the past couple of years so I don’t go there as often. You look SUPER cute in your new outfit! I love it! πŸ™‚ Happiest of (belated) birthdays, friend! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! I forgot how much I like Plato’s Closet. I didn’t show the rest of the clothes I bought there, but I went a little crazy! The birthday money has been considerably diminished…

  4. Happy birthday lovely!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

