Fall Fun at the Corn Maze

Earlier this year, during the summer, Justin and I drove to the Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio. On the way there, we passed by an advertisement for a giant corn maze, claiming to be one of the most impressive in Ohio or Pennsylvania. It wasn’t really corn maze season yet, but Justin and I vowed that we would come back to visit in the fall.

Better late than never! We really got gypped on fall this year in Pittsburgh. We were having unseasonably warm weather, and all of the trees stayed green for much longer than usual. Finally, we got some cool temperatures for about a week, and the leaves just started changing to yellow and some orange (but very little red), and SUDDENLY the weather turned freezing! Literally, freezing. We had snow on Friday! It was the wet, slushy snow that doesn’t really build up on the ground, but it was snow, nonetheless. So now, many of the green leaves are falling off of the trees and turning brown, completely skipping the beautiful-changing-of-colors step in the process! Ooooh, it makes me mad! You’ve never seen anyone as angry about leaves as this girl.

Anyway, we returned to the Columbiana Maze Craze in Ohio, and the corn stalks were all pretty much brown and dead. Though it’s a little less fun to walk through a maze when you can see through the “walls” to the other paths, it was still a good experience for my first ever corn maze. Next time, we’ll have to try to come a little earlier in the season.

One thing we seemed to forget about was dressing for cold weather. The freezing temperatures are still relatively new, and it seemed bright and sunny out when we left our apartment in Pittsburgh. However, by the time we arrived in Ohio (about an hour later) and got out of the car, the sky was a gloomy gray and the harsh wind was whipping straight through our clothes. Fortunately, I had a pair of winter gloves in my purse that I could wear. Justin wasn’t so lucky. I wished that I had a hat or some earmuffs, too, but I just had to tough it out. It was a very frigid day to be outdoors!

DSCN0219

There was also a small pumpkin patch, hayride, and plenty of carnival food stands on the grounds! We did end up buying a hotdog and hot apple cider in between mazes, and it was delicious!

There was also a small pumpkin patch, hayride, and plenty of carnival food stands on the grounds! We did end up buying a hotdog and hot apple cider in between mazes, and it was delicious!

There’s a family on the right warming up by the fire pit, just to give you an idea of how cold it was. 47 degrees was the high temperature of the day (I think it was in the 30’s during the late afternoon while we were there), with winds gusting from 17 to 26 mph, according to The Weather Channel.

One thing that I really enjoyed was that they had a scavenger hunt/mystery game in one of the mazes: Farm Scene Investigation. It was mostly for kids, but I participated anyways (and I earned a sticker for figuring out that it was THE PIG in THE PUMPKIN PATCH with THE HAMMER).

One thing that I really enjoyed was that they had a scavenger hunt/mystery game in one of the mazes: Farm Scene Investigation. It was mostly for kids, but I participated anyways (and I earned a badge/sticker for figuring out that the murderer was THE PIG in THE PUMPKIN PATCH with THE HAMMER).

Here's an aerial view of the entire maze (the way it looked when they first cut it in September). It's supposed to be a picture of a man and woman riding a rollercoaster, with a ferris wheel and a merry-go-round to complete the scene. The sand pit on the bottom right is the starting point for all mazes.

Here’s an aerial view of the entire maze (the way it looked when they first cut it in September). It’s supposed to be a picture of a man and woman riding a roller-coaster, with a Ferris wheel and a merry-go-round to complete the scene. The sand pit on the bottom right is the starting point for all mazes.

We're going in...

We’re going in…

Inside the giant sand pit, trying to figure out which maze to do first. There are four total mazes (though we skipped the blue maze, which was just for children). Justin's indicating that we should try the black maze (easiest) first.

Inside the giant sand pit, trying to figure out which maze to do first. There are four total mazes (though we skipped the blue maze, which was just for children). Justin’s indicating that we should try the black maze (easiest) first.

The barn was just barely visible from inside the corn maze. Sometimes I would look for it on the horizon to try to get my bearings straight.

The barn was just barely visible from inside the corn maze. Sometimes I would look for it on the horizon to try to get my bearings straight.

They provided us with a map, and we searched for different checkpoints (such as this one), where we could hole punch our card. Anyone who found all twenty checkpoints in all four mazes got to enter a drawing for a $100 gift card (we did it!).

They provided us with a map, and we searched for different checkpoints (such as this one), where we could hole punch our card. Anyone who found all twenty checkpoints in all four mazes got to enter a drawing for a $100 gift card (we did it!).

Don’t for a second believe that having a map was “cheating” or made it somehow easier to navigate the maze. I did alright leading the way through the small black maze (seen in the upper-right corner of the map), but as soon as we entered the red maze, it became apparent that I wasn’t a very good map-reader. I led us in circles for about twenty minutes, and just when I thought we were about to reach our checkpoint deep in the top of the maze, we found ourselves at the entrance again! Justin had to take over and start reading the map, and he was a much more proficient navigator than I was!

Hmm...all this navigating through the maze is making me hungry.

Hmm…all this navigating through the maze is making me hungry.

Hang on...did I already take that path? It looks familiar...

Hang on…did I already take that path? It looks familiar…

Corn as far as the eye can see.

Corn as far as the eye can see.

Justin leading the way!

Justin leading the way!

Have you ever been to a corn maze? Are you good at navigating through, or do you get lost like me?

Categories: Fall | Tags: , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Fall Fun at the Corn Maze

  1. Wow!! That is an impressive corn maze. Actually, plural – mazes! I have been to a corn maze a couple of times but the scope was no where near as large as this one.

    I love the pictures!

    • It was kind of cool that it was so big, but also kind of daunting (for me at least). I’m glad my husband was there to lead the way when I got lost! I would have had to blow a rescue whistle or something! 🙂

  2. I cannot believe it is that cold there! Snow already?! Crazy! I definitely got lost last year when we went to the Midsouth corn maze!

    • No one in Pittsburgh even wants to say the word “snow.” It’s an unspoken rule that we just shouldn’t talk about it, and if no one mentions it, maybe it will go away. 😉

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

