The Secret is Out!

In my last blog, I wrote about our trip to New York City, but I left out a key bit of information. When Justin and I visited the set of Good Morning America on our last day in the city, we decided to use our “television appearance” to make a pretty big announcement to my mom:

Wait a minute...that doesn't quite give you the whole picture...

Wait a minute…that doesn’t quite give you the whole picture…

That's better.

That’s better.

We knew that we wouldn’t be able to see her in person until Christmas, and that was WAY too long to wait to tell her that we are pregnant, so we figured that this was the next best thing. The camera never came up close to our faces, but we definitely got our sign on TV! All I told her was, “We’re going to be on Good Morning America. Look for the sign that says, ‘Hi Mom!'” and I left the rest to the cameras. Here’s a YouTube clip where you can see us (and if you look really closely, you can just make out Justin’s little face peeking through the crowd at the beginning):

A little while after this aired, my dad texted me asking, “Wait…are you holding the big pink and blue sign?” and I said, “Yes, that’s us!” He replied with, “You need to call your mom RIGHT NOW!” He even fibbed and told me that she had fainted, which had me really worried until I called them up and found out that he was just kidding. Nevertheless, they were super excited, and we were so happy that our 5 AM wake-up to stand in freezing Times Square wasn’t for nothing–it all worked out!

GMA screen shot

Everyone standing in the crowd with us was so excited when they read our sign. Some people even asked to take our picture. A little old lady standing near us practically grabbed the GMA producer by the arm when he walked by during a commercial break and said, “You need to make sure these two get their sign on camera!” He read it and smiled and said, “Congratulations! We’ll make sure you get on TV.”

Justin and I are so relieved that our friends and family all know and the secret is finally out! It’s been a hard secret to keep for these past 15 weeks. I’m due on May 18th, and I have an appointment on New Year’s Eve for a sonogram (that will reveal whether we’re having a boy or a girl). So there are more big reveals to follow! πŸ˜‰

Categories: New York City | Tags: , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “The Secret is Out!

  1. AHHHH! I am so so so happy for you!! I can’t believe you kept it a secret for so long! I think I will have a terrible time with that, haha! Anyway, I am SUPER excited for you guys and I can’t wait to hear if you guys are having a girl or boy! And I think this is a SUPER cool way to announce your pregnancy! I love it!

  2. Thanks, Rach! It was tough keeping it a secret for so long, but it was also nice to keep it to ourselves in some ways…because now all of the people who already have children are weighing in with not-so-comforting comments like, “You’d better sleep while you still can, har har” and “This will be the hardest thing you ever do.” Yikes! So far, I’m refusing to share name possiblities because I don’t really want to hear anyone’s negative opinions on those either…I’d rather just wait and say, “The baby’s name is __________” so that I don’t have to put up with any name suggestions or alternates, haha! πŸ™‚

  3. Oh my gooooooodnessss!!!! That is so exciting. And what a fabulous way to share the news with your mom. I love that everyone else in the crowd was so excited for you and that the GMA producer was certain to get you on camera. Congratulations!!

    • Thanks Amy! We are really excited! And it was definitely a cool experience to be on GMA…it’s the first time we’d really told our secret and seen people react to the news, and even random strangers were happy for us! It was a nice feeling! πŸ™‚

  4. What a great way to announce your wonderful news!! Congratulations again πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

