Christmas Card Photo Shoot

I was just looking back at my post last year, “Photos that Didn’t Make the Christmas Card.” I was surprised to realize that I’ve already done all the things that I mocked other people for doing. Now that Justin and I are starting a family, I was immediately ready to send out a Christmas card photo (and I wanted to send one with a sonogram photo on it–but sadly, my doctor hasn’t ordered a sonogram for me yet). I also wrote in that post that I didn’t think it was necessary to do a formal Christmas photo, like the ones done in a photo studio or something….but that’s exactly what I’ve done this year. However, Justin did insist that we take at least one silly Christmas photo this year, and though it didn’t make the Christmas card, I will include it for you to see below.

I was really set on having our picture taken in front of a fireplace, so we were all set to find a random fireplace (at Cracker Barrel or something) and just set our camera on a timer to take our own photo. However, our photographer friend Jae offered to take the photo for us! She invited us out to her grandparents’ farmhouse in Kittaning (about forty minutes outside of the city of Pittsburgh) to take our Christmas picture in front of their fireplace. We’d never really been out to Kittaning, and we were surprised to see the city skyline change so quickly into suburban homes and shopping centers, and then change again into seemingly nothing–just miles of countryside as far as the eye could see, with the occasional barn or silo looming on the horizon. Jae’s grandparents’ house also had a barn and a silo, and there was a distinct smell of manure in the air when we opened our doors to get out of the car. We were really in the country.

It was so nice to see Jae again, who is one of our Florida friends and fellow Florida State alum. It was also nice to have such a talented photographer taking our picture, because she had all sorts of creative ideas about how to pose us and how to arrange the lighting. She insisted on taking not just one or two photos, but turning our time together into an all-out photo shoot, mixing Christmas shots with baby-on-the-way shots. By the time she was finished, we had so many wonderful photos I thought, “We’ll need a Christmas ALBUM for these….they won’t all fit on a Christmas card!” πŸ™‚

I bought these mugs at Hallmark, and since we didn't yet have a sonogram picture, I wanted them to be a main feature in our Christmas photo.

I bought these mugs at Hallmark, and since we didn’t yet have a sonogram picture, I wanted them to be a main feature in our Christmas photo.

So we took several photos with the mugs...

So we took several photos with the mugs…

IMG_5994

But we realized that the letters on the mug were so small, it was really too difficult to read them. It looks like we’re just sipping coffee or hot chocolate–not announcing our new status as parents. So Jae had this creative idea:

Mugs in the foreground and blurry faces in the background :-)

Mugs in the foreground and blurry faces in the background πŸ™‚

I always feel a little awkward doing "looking at each other" photos...

I always feel a little awkward doing “looking at each other” photos…

edit (22 of 26)

Jae wanted me to do a few shots that highlighted my little baby bump. I still feel a little bit embarrassed about my baby bump because it really looks more like I ate too much Thanksgiving dinner than that I actually have a baby on the way (so far), but I complied:

edit (9 of 26)

Even though there's not much for us to be looking at (yet), I like this one. We love her (or him!) already!

Even though there’s not much for us to be looking at (yet), I like this one. We love her (or him!) already!

edit (14 of 26)

Justin insisted on pointing--"I put a baby in there!"

Justin insisted on pointing–“I put a baby in there!”

Because I was so embarrassed about taking so many photos with my hand on my belly to accentuate the bump, Justin decided to make me feel better by accentuating his belly too:

edit (15 of 26)

My husband is so ridiculous...

My husband is so ridiculous…

These belly-to-belly photos did not make it onto the Christmas card, much to Justin’s disappointment. πŸ˜‰

Another silly shot:

Justin had a serious face, so Jae tried to get me to do a serious/not smiling face too. I am notoriously bad at doing these...

Justin had a serious face, so Jae tried to get me to do a serious/not smiling face too. I am notoriously bad at doing these…

I kept snickering and my face kept twitching and trying to smile, and I tried to keep the corners of my mouth down…thus this strange face I’m making here. This is just one of several failed serious photos. At this point, Justin has completely abandoned trying to stay serious after hearing me snicker and feeling my convulsive belly laughter right behind him. πŸ™‚

I only chose three pictures for our Christmas card this year, and I really agonized over it (only because Jae gave me so many great choices!). If you want to know which pictures we chose, you’ll just have to wait and check your mailbox…

 

 

Categories: Christmas | Tags: , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Christmas Card Photo Shoot

  1. Aww these are great! You guys are so cute together! I am excited to see which ones you officially chose! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Rach! We’re hoping to send them out soon! I usually always mail my Christmas cards on December 1st on the dot–but this year, what with doing photoshoots and ordering photo cards, I feel like I’m running behind!

  2. Agh!!! I love these. You two are such an attractive couple and I love the mug announcements. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, Amy! Everyone is getting so creative with their pregnancy announcements these days (and even gender announcements now!) that the pressure was really on!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

