Our Engagement Anniversary

Seven years ago today, Justin and I got into a very important argument.

The argument was the classic girl-lament, “When are we getting married?”

(Yes, I went there, even though I knew better.)

The problem was that all of our friends seemed to be getting engaged. It was like a virus outbreak…every day we got news of another couple “biting the dust.” Even couples who hadn’t been together as long as Justin and I had (about ten months at that point) were getting engaged and setting a date–moving forward with their lives, as I saw it.

I was 21 years old and I hadn’t graduated college yet, but I was in a big hurry to grow up and get on with my life. πŸ™‚ So I started the argument.

“Are you trying to save up money to get a ring or something?” I conjectured (a possibility that my mom had planted into my head when I had the conversation with her earlier). “Because I don’t need a ring. I just want to marry you.”

“Really?” he asked, intrigued. “Well, let’s get married then.”

And then I started an argument about how that wasn’t the proper way to do a marriage proposal… *sigh* I don’t know how he puts up with me.

I didn’t like that our proposal story was forever going to be, “Well, we got engaged as the result of an argument. And there was no ring…not even a plastic one.” (Even though I clearly just stated that a ring didn’t matter to me…it felt strange to not have some sort of tangible token.)

I realized later that I was upset because it was so impromptu, and I worried that I had somehow “bullied” Justin into proposing to me. The truth is, he had already asked my parents for permission to marry me right around Christmas time. Every time my parents saw my number on the caller ID, they were sure that I was calling to announce that I’d gotten engaged. But Justin kept waiting and waiting…”Maybe he’s saving up money to buy a ring? He doesn’t really have a job right now,” my mom guessed when I complained to her over the phone, not knowing that she was in on a secret.

I also realized later that my parents got engaged in much the same way. He and my mom were eating dinner at T.G.I Fridays when my mom started hasseling him about when they would finally get married (they had only been dating for about three months!). He got down on one knee, without a ring, right there in the middle of the restaurant and proposed to her. Maybe she felt mixed feelings about his proposal, as I did, but she said “yes” (of course), and the entire restaurant erupted into applause. They’ve been married for over thirty years now. πŸ™‚

Who knows what spectacular proposal Justin (and my dad) would have planned if I (and my mom) hadn’t been so impatient. But in the end, getting proposed to with a sky-writer or a jumbo-tron or a singing quartet really isn’t important…it’s the guy you end up with that’s important.

That proposal/argument happened on a Sunday. On Monday, Justin got a call from an engineering firm, hiring him for his first permanent engineering job. With the assurance of a steady salary in his sights, he went to Helzberg Diamonds and picked out a ring. (My friend Lindsey worked there at the time and she got to help him pick it out…I’m surprised she could keep it a secret!) Tuesday was Valentine’s Day, and Justin took me out to dinner at the Macaroni Grill…

Half of the appeal of Macaroni Grill is that they let you write on the tables.

Half of the appeal of Macaroni Grill is that they let you write on the tables. Look at Baby Justin–wearing a tie and everything!

A happy girl, regardless of ring-status.

A happy girl, regardless of ring-status. I don’t know if you can see the necklace that I’m wearing, but it’s a tiny heart with my name engraved on one side and Justin’s name on the other side. It also has a little diamond ring charm dangling from it. Justin gave it to me for my birthday months earlier…that should have been a clear indication of his intentions…

And after dinner, he took me out for a walk around Lake Ella. It seemed like we were the only two people there, even on such a commercially romantic evening. It was there that he proposed to me again–the “proper” way that I had been hoping for. He brushed the hair away from my neck, removing the tiny engagement ring charm from my necklace and replacing it with a real, life-sized one. He also said a bunch of pretty things which I unfortunately don’t remember very well any more since my heart was racing with the realization of what was happening. It was certainly a surprise, getting a second marriage proposal! But he really didn’t need to. I was already his.

And I still am. ❀

IMG_2075

IMG_2061

Categories: Love | Tags: , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Our Engagement Anniversary

  1. Ashley B

    I knew too πŸ˜‰ I think I was supposed to figure out your ring size…

    Time flies!!

    • I didn’t realize that you knew too, Ashley! Ring sizes are hard…the last couple of pictures I posted were taken in the parking lot of the mall before taking my ring to Helzberg to get it resized because it was too big. I was so sad to have to part from it for a few days right after getting it!

  2. Ahhh, what a beautiful story!! I love that it has depth and character and humor and even a little drama. Happy engagement anniversary!

  3. Awwwwwww I love it! It’s a fun story to tell your kids too. It’s unique in its own way. πŸ™‚ I know what you mean about couples getting engaged that hadn’t been dating as long as you… we started dating at the beginning of freshman year and got engaged a couple of months before graduation senior year. That meant that several of our friends who were married before us went through the whole meet each other, start dating, get engaged, and get married all after Christopher and I had started dating and before we got engaged, haha!

    • I know…looking back I feel silly that I was in such a big hurry to get married after we were dating for less than a year! The thing is, I knew that Justin was the boy that I was supposed to marry before we even started dating, so I didn’t have any doubts! I was ready! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

