Milestones

It appears that I’m going to be a once-a-month blogger from now on…I suppose that’s okay. Something is better than nothing! And it’s always a hard decision between napping and blogging these days. No joke, I’m so sleep deprived that it took me a full thirty seconds of fingers hovering over the keyboard to finally remember that the website I use for blogging is called WordPress.com.

I need to type this out quickly as the baby is tossing, turning, and whimpering in his sleep, so I don’t know how long I have here. It doesn’t help that I have a case of the hiccups that are so violent that I keep startling him awake. Why is it that as soon as Jake falls asleep and I try to be quiet, everything that I do (tripping over things on the floor, getting a text message, etc.) seem so incredibly loud?

I’m writing today because we have a few milestones to celebrate.

1. Baby Jake has his first road trip under his belt! We traveled to Knoxville, Tennessee (an eight hour journey) to visit my parents for the 4th.

We were worried that it would be an absolute nightmare, but it wasn’t as bad as we feared. He actually slept most of the time and there were relatively few meltdowns. The toughest thing was figuring out the schedule for nursing. We hated to make a long trip even longer by making frequent stops, but if you remember from my last post, when a breastfeeding mom neglects to nurse every 2-3 hours…bad things can happen.

The trouble is figuring out where to go! I am not really comfortable with whipping out the boobies in public (even if I do cover myself with a little blanket…it can be a tricky transition). And even if I were okay with it, some states outlaw breastfeeding in public (and as we were traveling through multiple states, I wasn’t totally sure what my rights were regarding that). So poor Baby Jake ended up eating his first public restroom meal. First and LAST. I decided pretty quickly that I wasn’t going to do that again–YUCK! For the rest of the trip, I decided to nurse him in the backseat of the car (after Justin parked far far away from any human contact, I might add). It wasn’t ideal, but it was much better than sitting on a toilet seat in a dirty public restroom.

A proposed ad campaign for public breastfeeding in the state of Texas. This is the exact situation Jake and I were in, to give you a (yucky!) mental image...

A proposed ad campaign for public breastfeeding in the state of Texas. This is the exact situation Jake and I were in, to give you a (yucky!) mental image…

Once we arrived, however, everything was great! It was nice to visit with family and let everyone take turns holding the baby. We barbequed and played outside a little bit. We didn’t feel like battling the crowds to get downtown to see the fireworks, but luckily, we didn’t have to. My parents’ front porch afforded us views of fireworks shows going on in the distance in four different directions! And my photographer sister took some super artistic pictures of Jake! (I’ll share those when I get copies from her.) It was so nice, and I was sad to come back home.

Fun outdoors: My mom and my sister in the top left, Justin playing catch with our nephew Drew in the top right, my nephew Zach spraying his little brother (Drew) with the hose (and my dad "helping") on the bottom left, and Drew showing off his baseball skills on the bottom right.

Fun outdoors: My mom and my sister in the top left, Justin playing catch with our nephew Drew in the top right, my nephew Zach spraying his little brother (Drew) with the hose (and my dad “helping”) on the bottom left, and Drew showing off his baseball skills on the bottom right.

Baby Jake showing off his new shades!

Baby Jake showing off his new shades!

"Grandma" enjoyed spending time with her new grandbaby!

“Grandma” enjoyed spending time with her new grandbaby!

2. Baby Jake is two months old now!

month one month two compare

The difference between his one month picture and two month picture is incredible to me. I’ve been feeling like he doesn’t look much different than when he was first born, but as I look through old photos of him, I can really see how he’s changed (so slowly that I didn’t even notice it)! His arms and legs are getting chunkier and longer. His belly is getting chunkier too…I’ve been noticing that his newborn onesies are fitting pretty tightly these days. He also shows a wider range of emotion now. He cries a lot (and screams!–oh, that scream…), but he smiles and laughs a lot more now, too. And he’s started making this adorable cooing sound–and he’s already figured out that if he smiles and coos at me in the middle of the night when I’m getting frustrated that he won’t go back to sleep, that all will be forgiven. πŸ™‚

3. Seven years!

Forgive me--I've taken a photo of the photo. I guess getting digital copies of the wedding photos wasn't a "thing" WAAAY back then. ;-)

Forgive me–I’ve taken a photo of the photo. I guess getting digital copies of the wedding photos wasn’t a “thing” WAAAY back then. πŸ˜‰

Justin and I are celebrating our seventh wedding anniversary today–on 07/07/07! It’s hard to believe that seven years have gone by! But I’m so glad that we had (nearly) seven years to just be “two” and have fun being married before bringing the baby into the picture. We’ve had some good times and weathered some tough times together–and we’ve had some amazing adventures! Becoming a parent has been a challenge, but with this guy by my side, I feel like I can conquer anything!

4. First-time homebuyers!

So….one of the main reasons that we went to visit my parents for the 4th of July (not that we don’t love seeing them) is so that we could scope out a new house. Justin and I have only ever rented apartments (six different residences over seven years–ugh!) and we are really ready to settle down and stop all the moving, already! We know that the time between putting in an offer and moving in can be about a month, so we thought we’d better make a trip in advance to explore our options. We met with a realtor, spent a LONG day on Thursday looking at different houses, and….we made an offer on one! Nothing is official yet, but we’re feeling really hopeful that we will be the proud new owners of this little beauty:

house

Check out that beautiful kitchen--woowoo!

Check out that beautiful kitchen–woowoo!

The garage has been converted into a bonus room, which we plan to use as a playroom to store all of those toys that Jake is likely to accumulate...

The garage has been converted into a bonus room, which we plan to use as a playroom to store all of those toys that Jake is likely to accumulate…

It’s hard to believe that we will only spend about three and a half more weeks in Pittsburgh, and then we will be Tennessee-bound! πŸ˜€

 

Categories: baby, Home | Tags: , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Milestones

  1. Love the shades, Baby Jake!! And oh my goodness – the difference in size and attentiveness between one month and two months is awesome!! What a change. Happy anniversary to you and Justin!! 7 years! That house is great!! Fingers crossed that your offer is accepted and you can move right into it!

  2. That house is so beautiful!! Also, I am so excited for you to be in Knoxville! We are totally going to get to meet!! πŸ™‚ Sweet baby Jake is growing SO fast! Love his sweet little face. πŸ™‚

    • How did I not see this comment earlier? Thanks, Rach! We definitely wouldn’t mind taking a trip to Memphis and letting you show us around town! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

