Trip to Florida

florida

Hello, friends! It’s been awhile, as always! Partly owing to the fact that Baby Jake keeps me busy, and partly owing to the fact that fall grad classes are in full swing, and partly owing to the fact that a technology/literacy class that I’m enrolled in is having me keep a blog for educational reasons. It’s hard to stay on top of it all!

You guys, it has been TWO YEARS since this Florida girl has been in her home state, and two weeks ago I got to take a visit during my birthday weekend/Labor Day weekend. It is the best birthday gift I could have asked for! It was also a nice chance for Baby Jake to meet some new family members and cross several state lines once again. We could probably win a contest for having the most well-traveled baby–he has visited and/or lived in six different states in the first four months of his life!

DSCN0978

The problem with our trip was that it was poorly planned and very last-minute. We were originally planning to visit during the weekend of September 6th because our college ministry group was having a big reunion that weekend. I skipped my ten-year high school reunion because there really wasn’t anyone there that I wanted to reunite with–but I really wanted to go to THIS reunion! However, the closing date on our house keeps getting pushed back and pushed back because of our loan taking so long to process, which caused us to change the date of our trip. But that’s something that I don’t really want to blog about, because it makes me sad. I’m just hoping that at some point before the month of October, we’ll be able to move out of my parents’ house and into our own.

Anyways…Florida! Jake got to meet great aunts and great uncles, cousins (if they’re my cousins, does that make them his second cousins? Or first cousins once removed?…Or something?), grandparents, and great grandparents! Justin was especially excited that Jake got to meet his great grandparents, because that’s something that he never got to do.

You know the funniest thing about seeing my relatives interact with Baby Jake? Hearing all of their "baby talk" voices. Some of them (Aunt Sondra on the top left and Uncle David on the top right) were especially cute, because I just don't remember ever hearing them talk "baby talk" before! :-)

You know the funniest thing about seeing my relatives interact with Baby Jake? Hearing all of their “baby talk” voices. Some of them (Aunt Sondra on the top left and Uncle David on the top right) were especially cute, because I just don’t remember ever hearing them talk “baby talk” before! πŸ™‚

Jake meeting his great grandparents! Look how big my Papa's hands look wrapped around Baby Jake's little body!

Jake meeting his great grandparents! Look how big my Papa’s hands look wrapped around Baby Jake’s little body!

Have you ever been on a trip where you planned too many “side trips”? And then the side trips eventually took over the main trip? That’s what happened to us that weekend. Justin took off on Friday and we spent pretty much the entire day driving from Knoxville to Tampa. We stayed two nights (in two different houses) before traveling to Tallahassee (which was meant to be our “main” trip originally–but we couldn’t go all the way to Florida without seeing our relatives in Tampa!) and stayed one night, and then drove back to Knoxville on Monday, stopping at my aunt’s house in Georgia along the way. Total, we visited six different households in three days, and apologized right and left to everyone about having to leave so soon. It made me sad to spend such a short time in Florida when I’ve been missing it for so long, and on top of that to not have time to relax or make any other side trips (and there WERE other side trips that we wanted to make, but we decided that we just couldn’t do it for the sake of time). Justin has promised me that we will go back to visit in the spring and stay longer, perhaps making a trip to the beach with Jake. I’m going to hold him to it–I can’t wait! πŸ™‚

Me with my Florida friends--Julie and Ashley

Me with my Florida friends–Julie and Ashley

Justin with his friend, Adam. Adam and his wife had their baby girl just two months after ours, so Justin and Adam like to joke that they've got an "understanding" (that our babies are betrothed to each other). Jake doesn't look like he's too happy about it!

Justin with his friend, Adam. Adam and his wife had their baby girl just two months after ours, so Justin and Adam like to joke that they’ve got an “understanding” (that our babies are betrothed to each other). Jake doesn’t look like he’s too happy about it!

Categories: Florida, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Trip to Florida

  1. It is so great that you took this trip and Baby Jake (who, by the way, seems very tall. Is he taller than the average four month old?) got to meet so much family. And his betrothed. He’ll be on board eventually – he’s just all, “I can’t be tied down right now! Let me play a field a bit.” πŸ™‚

    Sounds like you have been busy!

    • Haha…he is 25 inches tall, Amy! πŸ™‚ The doctor tells me that he is at the 40th percentile for height, so apparently most four month olds are taller?

  2. Haha! Jake doesn’t look very happy about that arranged marriage at all! πŸ˜‰ Cute, though! Glad you guys got to go to Florida and see all the family! Adults are so funny when they break out their baby voices! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

