Ready for Summer

Last weekend, Jake and I celebrated pretty significant milestones. Specifically, I graduated from University of Pittsburgh with my master’s degree and Jake got his first haircut!

I’ve been debating for awhile over whether to cut Jake’s hair. I was really trying to wait until he was at least one year old (which will happen on Wednesday this week! Can you believe it??), but his hair was getting so shaggy, I had to do something. It was always in his eyes, and it was getting long around the ears and curling up on his neck. I think one day Jakey will thank me for helping him avoid having a mullet for his first birthday party, don’t you? We took him to Great Clips (because I was far too nervous to try it myself…he could have ended up with something worse than a mullet!), and he did an awesome job. They even gave us a little certificate of his official first haircut, with a lock of his hair to save in his baby book!

first haircut

And I am officially finished with school! I didn’t attend my graduation ceremony (which was held eight hours away in Pittsburgh), but Justin took me out for lunch and made sure that I had a fantastic day! And there was a lot of humming of the “Pomp and Circumstance” song throughout the day. 🙂

I'm wearing Justin's high school graduation hat. Apparently, his school required him to buy his graduation outfit, so we've been carrying it around with us from move to move. His hat fit me just right!

I’m wearing Justin’s high school graduation hat. Apparently, his school required him to buy his graduation outfit, so we’ve been carrying it around with us from move to move. His hat fit me just right!

I’ve barely had time to feel sentimental about the end of my graduate career with all of the writing I’ve been doing for the last few weeks! My research seminar class culminated in a research study that I designed and implemented, with a 50+ page APA formatted write-up on it. The weight of getting this paper finished has been resting heavily on my shoulders, and at times it felt crushing. But I’m happy to say that the final grades have been posted, and I made an A on my paper, and in my class! So in the end, I crushed it. 😉

In case you’re longing for a taste of my brilliance, I’ve included a downloadable copy of my paper here: Final Paper1. If nothing else, you can scroll through the pages and marvel at the fact that I’ve written a 50+ page Word document (which I’m pretty sure is the longest thing I’ve ever written)!

We’re reaching another milestone this week as well. I haven’t wanted to write a complaint blog about it, but we had some pretty significant water damage in our house about a month ago due to a leaking water heater–in the playroom, of all rooms! Jake and I have been confined to the living room for these last few weeks, and it’s been kind of stressful to have his toys all over the floor. One reason we bought this house was because we wanted to have a room for Jake to play in and store all of his toys, and then a toy-free grown-up space for us to hang out when Jake goes to bed. With the play room under renovations (new carpet, new baseboards, new paint, etc.) for these past few weeks, Jake has taken over the living room! But they should be finishing up their work this week (just in time for Jake’s party!).

Toys everywhere! And my make-shift baby gate to keep Jake out of the kitchen, ha!

Toys everywhere! And my make-shift baby gate to keep Jake out of the kitchen, ha!

 

The room has been painted and carpeted as of last Friday. It's almost finished!

The room has been painted and carpeted as of last Friday. It’s almost finished!

So it feels like we are officially ready for summer! We’ve been moving along on yard-saling and other projects to get our house ready for Jake’s party (which will be our first official house party and the largest number of guests we’ve ever had). I’m still working on a few more things this week–buying a set of porch furniture, for one! Next time you see me, I’ll be the mother of a ONE YEAR OLD, blogging about how the party went!

 

Justin built a shed for our backyard this weekend! Now we have a place to store our bicycles, lawnmower, etc. and we can get that stuff out of the house!

Justin built a shed for our backyard this weekend! Now we have a place to store our bicycles, lawnmower, etc. and we can get that stuff out of the house!

 

I found a bike seat ($10) and a helmet ($2) for Jake at yard sales this weekend! He is loving riding the bike!

I found a bike seat ($10) and a helmet ($2) for Jake at yard sales this weekend! He is loving riding the bike!

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Ready for Summer

  1. Your little guy is so cute!! Handsome gent.

    Congratulations on your graduation!! I’m so excited for you and hope you celebrate for the rest of the year because you’ve earned it.

    Yay for the Jake space that is in progress! You’ll corral all those toys in no time! Happy birthday, Jake!

    • Thanks, Amy! I’m so sad that you won’t get to meet Jake in person! This summer anyway…I’m hoping that our meetup is just postponed, not canceled!

  2. So cute and an early biker! 😉

  3. Congratulations, girl!!! Way to be awesome! I can only imagine what a relief it is to be graduated and done with that paper!

    Hopefully the water leakage problems are fixed by now and if not, then hopefully soon! I’m sure that’s frustrating.

    Hard to believe Jake is ONE already! Time is flying!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

