Jake’s Birthday Bash (a.k.a. Death by Pinterest)

Someone please stop me next time I go on Pinterest overload. Give me a little pinch…maybe a splash in the face with some cold water. Because it is not as easy as they make it look, friends! And for Jake’s first birthday party, I definitely went on Pinterest overload.

I decided to go with a woodland creature theme because that is already the theme of Jake’s bedroom, so we had a lot of woodland creatures hanging around already.

Most ADORABLE birthday boy ever. Just hanging with his forest friends.

Most ADORABLE birthday boy ever. Just hanging with his forest friends.

Yes–he’s wearing a birthday crown! Justin insisted that my need to have Jake wear a crown on his birthday was some strange expression of wishing I had a little girl/princess. But I think that Jake’s crown is the manliest of birthday crowns, if I do say so myself. Everyone kept asking me all day if I had made the crown myself, but no–I am not that skilled with felt. I ordered it from Etsy. 🙂

But…I did feel the need to make a birthday bunting:

bunting

On the front door, the high chair, and across one wall in the kitchen. That was a lot of time spent cutting felt triangles (back when I was supposed to be writing papers and doing other important things for grad school–ha!). And then, I did a little more Pinteresting, and realized that I needed to make one of these:

chalkboard

And of course, I needed to make a special blue birthday punch:

1 box Blue Rasberry Jolly Rancher Jello, 1 cup boiling water, 1 cup cold water, 1 (2-liter) bottle of Sprite, 1 can pineapple juice or crushed pineapple, several generous scoops of pineapple sherbert....VOILA! :-)

1 box Blue Rasberry Jolly Rancher Jello, 1 cup boiling water, 1 cup cold water, 1 (2-liter) bottle of Sprite, 1 can pineapple juice or crushed pineapple, several generous scoops of pineapple sherbert….VOILA! 🙂

My original idea was to have us drinking the punch out of mason jars with paper straws (MORE Pinterest), but Justin’s attempt to drill a straw-sized hole into the top of the mason jars failed, so I just went to Party City and got plastic cups like a normal person. 😛

A picture I snapped really quick on my cellphone before the party started

A picture I snapped really quick on my cellphone before the party started

I also felt like I really needed to make party poufs (which can be kind-of seen hanging from the fan and ceiling in this photo), but the tissue paper was wilting and my poufs weren’t quite as poofy as I’d hoped. In the end, I realized that I needed to just RELAX and enjoy having family and friends together all under one roof. And enjoy the sweet little birthday boy, of course. I don’t need Pinterest to tell me how to do that. 😉

Enjoying the party

Enjoying the party

Getting ready to smash the cake!

Getting ready to smash the cake!

The biggest mess I've EVER SEEN

The biggest mess I’ve EVER SEEN

More pictures of the handsome birthday boy to follow! Compliments to my sister, Heather Petrie, for taking such beautiful photos of everything! All of the pictures in this post (except for my junky cellphone pic) are hers.

See you soon!

See you soon!

Categories: birthday, Pinterest | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Jake’s Birthday Bash (a.k.a. Death by Pinterest)

  1. Teena Cone

    Rachel, you did a great job on the party! Everyone had a great time and Jake was just adorable! You are becoming an amazing Mom, able to do so many things at once (including a Masters Degree)! We are so proud of all you’ve done!

  2. It’s all so perfect! So very Pinteresty and adorable!

    It IS the manliest little crown! And every one of those photos is precious. The very first one of him is my favorite! And the one of him enjoying his cake! Adorbs! 🙂

    • Thanks, Rach! That’s an extra compliment coming from a pro photographer! I keep telling my sister that she needs to go pro, too!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

