Rachel and Jake’s Epic Road Trip Adventure!

Jake and I just got back from a two-week long road trip down to Florida, without Justin! If you’d told me last year that I would be taking a 1,600+ mile road trip by myself I probably wouldn’t have believed it–let alone with a baby boy in the backseat! But after about a month of downtime (after finishing grad school and wrapping up my *extremely* part-time job as a substitute teacher), I was getting a little stir crazy and I was ready for an adventure! I think Jake was ready, too. 😉

road trip map

This was our scheduled route. We drove from Knoxville, TN to Tallahassee, FL, stopping there to stay with some friends for a few days. (Jake only had TWO meltdowns during that 8-hour drive–one that required us to stop for lunch just outside of Atlanta, and another about ten minutes before we arrived at our destination. He was a champ!) Then we went on down to Tampa, FL to visit with family (I have all kinds of family on both sides who live there) for about a week. After that, we left and traveled through Orlando to meet up with a friend there for lunch, and then continued on our way to Cocoa Beach where my father-in-law lives. However…I guess I’m not being entirely truthful when I say that I made this trip alone. At the last-minute, Justin decided that he wanted to travel down to Cocoa as well, so he found a really cheap one-way flight from Knoxville and managed to take a few days off of work to meet me there. So after Orlando, we detoured through Sanford to pick him up from his Allegiant Airlines flight, and then drove back down to Cocoa. We stayed there for a few days before heading north to Georgia to stay overnight with my Aunt before going back home. Phew! Just explaining it makes me tired. It was quite a trip!

I can’t blog about the entire trip in one post because there is just TOO MUCH, but I will leave you with some pictures from our time in Tallahassee. It is always nice to visit with my friends there and reminisce about college days! Aaand, we managed to take a leisurely hour-long stroll around campus (while summer classes are in session) without getting any parking tickets!! Quite an impressive feat. 😀

Me and my former roommate Ashley. Roommates as in...we shared a little room on the second floor of a townhome for two years. If that doesn't make you besties for life, I don't know what does. ;-)

Me and my former roommate Ashley. Roommates as in…we shared a little room on the second floor of a townhome for two years. If that doesn’t make you besties for life, I don’t know what does. 😉

A bigger view of where we're standing: The Wescott Fountain in front of the Ruby Diamond Auditorium. I took my largest class (affectionately nicknamed "Baby Bio" because it was the easiest, and also most popular, science course offered at our school) in Ruby Diamond with 974 other classmates.

A bigger view of where we’re standing: The Wescott Fountain in front of the Ruby Diamond Auditorium. I took my largest class (affectionately nicknamed “Baby Bio” because it was the easiest, and also most popular, science course offered at our school) in Ruby Diamond with 974 other classmates.

This fountain is also pretty popular with Florida State students. It’s a long-held tradition to get thrown into the fountain (fully clothed, usually unexpected, and not without a fight) on one’s birthday, and Ashley and I have both been “swimming” on several occasions.

But our crazy college days are over and now we're both stay-at-home mamas. :-D

But our crazy college days are over and now we’re both stay-at-home mamas. 😀

My future little Seminole. :-D

My future little Seminole. 😀

Stay tuned for more on my adventures in Tampa and Cocoa!

Categories: Road Trip | Tags: , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Rachel and Jake’s Epic Road Trip Adventure!

  1. That is quite the road trip! I’m glad you enjoyed your time in Florida; I always love visiting Tallahassee 🙂

    • It’s always fun to go back, Maggie! But I forgot about how relentless the Florida heat can be this time of year! In Tennessee (and in Pennsylvania) the morning temps start in the 70’s and work their way up to 80’s or 90’s by noon. But in Florida it always feels like 100 degrees regardless!

  2. Ahh! Look how big Jake is getting! My gracious! Also, I am SO impressed with you! I can’t imagine making that drive without another adult to trade off driving with! And especially with a baby. Go you! You’re so impressive! So glad you had fun and got to catch up with your old roomie! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

