School is in Session

It’s been an exhausting few weeks, trying to get back into the routine of going to school and teaching all day–so you’ll have to excuse my absence from blogging! I always think about getting on my laptop and typing out a post, but I generally feel completely bereft of any brilliance by the end of the day (having been dispensing it in large quantities to my students all day, of course). πŸ˜‰

School is going well! I’m not really exaggerating when I say that I think I’ve found my dream job. Teaching is always more or less the same no matter where you go…but the school, the students, and the administrators can really make or break the experience. My latest job–so far–is acing all three categories. First, the school. Let me show you around:

The room.

The room.

Reading Corner

Reading Corner

This is a poster that my friend Danielle Smiley painted for me (and then scanned into the computer). Isn't it amazing?? Our school mascot is the Ram, and "Love the Lord your God..." is our school verse.

This is a poster that my friend Danielle Smiley painted for me (and then scanned into the computer). Isn’t it amazing?? Our school mascot is the Ram, and “Love the Lord your God…” is our school verse.

This bookshelf mural was already there when I moved in, apparently painted in recent years by a friend of the teacher who used to occupy this room. I'm not complaining! :-D

This bookshelf mural was already there when I moved in, apparently painted in recent years by a friend of the teacher who used to occupy this room. I’m not complaining! πŸ˜€

I've finally found the perfect spot to show off my credentials. ;-)

I’ve finally found the perfect spot to show off my credentials. πŸ˜‰

And my students–I am really swooning over these juniors. They are the kind of kids that you imagine you’ll be teaching when you’re taking undergrad education classes (until you get out into the world and reality bursts your bubble). So far this year, no one has tried to slash my tires, threatened to stab me, tried to get me fired, or called me a b*%$#.

(True story–those things have all happened to me at some point or another in the past.)

But seriously, even the more minor offenses–throwing a paper on the ground and refusing to do work…being mean to fellow classmates…talking back and disrespecting the teacher–none of those have happened yet, AT ALL. In fact, I’m not totally sure what I’ll do if something like that does happen, because it will be a complete shock, LOL. Are some kids lazy? Sure. Do I have kids who forget to turn in their homework? Of course. But overall, I’m teaching some REALLY great kids, and I almost feel like I’m on vacation. I don’t get the normal end-of-the-day stress/panic attack that I used to get when I was teaching in public school, and that is a bonus that can’t really be quantified on a paycheck. In other words….I’m never leaving. πŸ™‚

I’ve got the AP kids, who are so adorably nerdy, reading through The Crucible with outlandish character voices and British accents. I’ve got a group of ridiculous boys (I think of them as “the wolf pack,” because they tend to rove the halls in their herd) who do this silly touching-the-nose-“not”-“it” thing when I ask for a volunteer. I also get free food at lunch everyday, provided to the faculty and staff by the school. And it’s GOOD food–with a daily choice of hot lunch, soup/salad bar, or sandwich bar.

So basically, I just wanted to write a post bragging ad nauseum about my new job. πŸ˜›

You’re welcome.

TOUCHDOWN at the first home football game of the season (free admission to the Friday Night Lights--another job perk!)

TOUCHDOWN at the first home football game of the season (free admission to the Friday Night Lights–another job perk!)

Football game selfie. :-)

Football game selfie. πŸ™‚

Categories: School | Tags: , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “School is in Session

  1. Oh my gosh, this sounds so excellent! I am so glad that it is proving to be a dream job thus far and I’m sure that will continue to be true. I’m so happy for you!! Keep bragging – it’s fun to hear people talk about enjoying their jobs.

  2. Debbi Hodges

    I am soooooooo happy for you, Rachel! You have allowed God to lead in all areas of your life and you are realizing His blessings!! Will things always be perfect? Absolutely not-but if you are faithful in the small things (and ALL things!) God is faithful to reward with greater things. Many continued blessings and success! Aunt Debbi

  3. I’m so happy to hear that it’s going so well! What wonderful students! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

