Why don’t you go blog about it…

A screen shot of our class blog

A screen shot of our class blog

One reason that I have lately been so absent from this blog is because I have been very ACTIVE with a different blog–namely, my classroom blog. I’ve often had students keep journals in years past, but this is the first year that I’m updating the journal concept and having my students keep individual blogs. Because I’m already familiar with the WordPress interface, it was easy for me to use Edublogs–their educationally-geared cousin. It looks and feels a lot like WordPress, but I am able to tie everyone’s blogs together and have one master/control station for viewing stats from all 69 blogs.

That's my 4th period class (during Spirit week, which is why we're dressed in costume). I'm in the Snow White outfit, standing behind the boy in black in the front row who is really wishing he was somewhere (ANYWHERE) else. And YES, I am that teacher who allows my students to take selfies (this one was with a stick!) and post them on Twitter during the school day. It WAS a special occasion, after all. ;-)

That’s my 4th period class (during Spirit week, which is why we’re dressed in costume). I’m in the Snow White outfit, standing behind the boy in black in the front row who is really wishing he was somewhere (ANYWHERE) else. And YES, I am that teacher who allows my students to take selfies (this one was with a stick!) and post them on Twitter during the school day. It WAS a special occasion, after all. πŸ˜‰

It can be a bit overwhelming at times to keep up with everything. I’ve been trying to have my students blog once a week (though sometimes life gets in the way and we don’t get around to it every single week), and that means reading and commenting on 69 posts on a weekly basis. Don’t get me wrong–I love doing it. But I rarely can sit down and do them all at once. When it begins to feel like a chore, I know that I need to take a break for awhile and come back to it later. And I’ve also learned that I need to pare down my comments a bit. I can’t write extensive, three-paragraphs-long comments to every single person. In fact, some weeks, I just copy and paste a canned comment so that my students know that I’ve read their post, and I try not to feel guilty for being so impersonal. (Although I did one time have a student excitedly request that I read his blog post RIGHT THIS MINUTE, and not just give him a standard “great post,” but leave him a REAL comment, LOL).

More school pictures: This is my student Kate on the left, who was much more excited about meeting Jake than Jake was about meeting her, unfortunately (stranger danger!). On the right is a picture of me with Beth, the U.S. History teacher at my school. (Why are we ALWAYS IN COSTUME??) This time, we were dressed up because Beth was celebrating her birthday with a British-theme, mainly because she wanted to be Queen Elizabeth. :-) And yes, she is the kind of teacher who invites students to her party (exhibit A: Kate on the left-hand side).

More school pictures: This is my student Kate on the left, who was much more excited about meeting Jake than Jake was about meeting her, unfortunately (stranger danger!). On the right is a picture of me with Beth, the U.S. History teacher at my school. (Why are we ALWAYS IN COSTUME??) This time, we were dressed up because Beth was celebrating her birthday with a British-theme, mainly because she wanted to be Queen Elizabeth. πŸ™‚ And yes, she is the kind of teacher who invites students to her party (exhibit A: Kate on the left-hand side).

As of right now, all of my students’ blogs are public (meaning that a reader doesn’t need to have a password to view the page). My students are sixteen and seventeen years old, after all, and I feel like they already have such enormous digital footprints from all of their other social media accounts, that one more won’t really hurt them. In the spirit of sharing, I thought I would link you to five of my favorite blog posts that have been written so far this year. It was a really tough call to narrow it down to five, because I think I have a lot more than just FIVE favorites. But I tried my best to choose the cream of the crop. In no particular order….

  1. A post on Living the American Dream

kates blog

2. A post on Standing Up for People Who Have Been Marginalized

kelseys blog

3. A post on Why People Don’t Like Christians

katelyns blog

4. A post on Why One Student Considers Her Mother Her Hero

alexiss blog

5. A post on Why God’s Grace is so Amazing

Tanners Blog

Enjoy! πŸ™‚

And yes, I am that teacher who finds ridiculous Abe Lincoln memes to project onto the board during class. I try to switch it out every week, and the kids always look forward to seeing the new ones. Just keepin' it classy for American Lit. ;-)

And yes, I am that teacher who finds ridiculous Abe Lincoln memes to project onto the board during class. I try to switch it out every week, and the kids always look forward to seeing the new ones. Just keepin’ it classy for American Lit. πŸ˜‰

Categories: Teaching | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Why don’t you go blog about it…

  1. I can’t believe you were reading that many blog posts and commenting on each one every week on top of normal work/planning/family life/etc. Wow! Love the photos of your students. I bet you are their favorite teacher. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

