Chicago and an Announcement

I’m sorry so much time has gone by! I meant to post fall pictures, Jake in his Halloween costume, etc., but now that we’re almost to Thanksgiving, it seems kind of silly. I’ll just tell you a bit about this past weekend.

I couldn't find a great picture of the two of us together, but here is Tammy and her brother Tony from our college days.

I couldn’t find a great picture of the two of us together, but here is Tammy and her brother Tony from our college days.

My friend Tammy Hsu (now Tammy Hsu-Hartenstein–what a name!) just got married this past weekend, in Chicago. We are all about a destination wedding (well, a destination for us, at least), so we’ve been excitedly looking forward to this trip! We decided to drive it–it’s about eight hours from Knoxville, but 10-11 hours if you’re traveling with a toddler, like us. The drive was not so much fun (when did Jake become so difficult to keep entertained?), but we really enjoyed our extended weekend. I’ll be doing some follow-up posts on what we did there later on (I promise! At least one).

The Bean! (Otherwise known by its proper name, "Cloud Gate")

The Bean! (Otherwise known by its proper name, “Cloud Gate”)

But before I get into details about Chicago, I couldn’t help but think about how two years ago we were also visiting a big city–New York! At just the same time of year. And we got up at 4:30 AM and stood out in Time Square for hours, freezing, just so we could make a very special announcement to my parents from the set of Good Morning America:

Remember this?

Remember this?

So I thought it would be fitting, on the two-year anniversary of that announcement (and another random road trip to a big city!) to make another  announcement. We’re having a baby…again!

....AAAND another little bean.

….AAAND another little bean.

We are so excited (and let’s be honest…wondering if we’re a little crazy to want to do this all over again) to be expecting a new little one. He or she is due in early July (date subject to change), and we’re hoping that Jake will enjoy being a big brother!

Categories: Travel | Tags: , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Chicago and an Announcement

  1. OH MY GOODNESS!! Congratulations!!! I’m so happy for you guys!!

  2. YAY!! I’m so happy for you both!!

  3. Julie

    Congratulations! Very exciting news!

  4. Yay!! Congratulations!! I’m so excited for your family and I’m certain that Jake will love being a big brother. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

